Johnson & Johnson’s CEO joins apple’s board of directors.

On Tuesday, Apple announced that Alex Gorsky, CEO of American multinational corporation Johnson & Johnson’s will join Apple’s board of directors.

Though Apple welcomed Gorsky as the newest member, Gorsky is currently working with Johnson & Johnson and is expected to step down from his position in January 2022.

The Cupertino-based technology company shared a press release about Gorsky’s joining the board.

“Alex has long been a visionary in healthcare, applying his tremendous insight, experience, and passion for technology to the cause of improving lives and building healthier communities,” said Tim Cook, Apple’s CEO. “We’re excited to welcome him to Apple’s board of directors, and I know that all of us will benefit from his leadership and expertise.” 

Alex Gorsky CEO of Johnson & Johnson’s.

This announcement comes at the time when Apple is increasing its efforts in putting health-related features in their products especially apple watches. Recently they plan on introducing a car crash detection feature in their iPhone model along with all the life-saving features already present in their gadgets with several potential life-saving features including irregular heart rate alerts, ECG (Electrocardiogram) to detect Atrial Fibrillation, and SpO2 (blood oxygen saturation) level reader.

Furthermore, the recent iOS 15 updates have made it easier for users to share medical data with family doctors, family members, caretakers than ever before.

“I’ve long shared Apple’s belief that technology has the potential to improve lives and create healthier communities,” said Alex Gorsky. “It’s an honor to join Apple’s board of directors, and to be part of a values-led company that’s constantly innovating to both enable and enhance the way we live.” 

Gorsky began his tenure at Johnson & Johnson in 1988, accumulating a broad range of experience in sales, management, and marketing before becoming CEO in 2012.

Gorsky joins other members include Arthur D. Levinson, James A. Bell, Albert Gore, Andrea Jung, Monica Lozano, Ronald D. Sugar, and Susan L. Wagner.

Share this

Leave a Reply